9 Comments

What is your favorite food to eat during Ramadan?

Expand full comment
author

My grandmother's samosas!😍😍😍 I'm away from home this year and I miss them so much. She makes them at other times of the year as well (really, whenever I ask for them) but I especially miss them during Ramadan because they're a staple at the table during Iftaar and they taste divine in a way no store-bought samosa will ever come close. Sigh

Expand full comment

What do you most look forward to during Ramadan?

Expand full comment
author

What a thoughtful question! On a primary level, I think I save so much time not thinking about food and eating...lol. So I look forward to having one less distraction. Sort of. I'm totally thinking about food as soon as I can eat it. When I'm home, I love the energy of preparing Iftaar with my family, of all of us gathering around the table to eat and pray together. I love how our schedules, sleep cycles and priorities change and adapt to this time of year. I also love hosting and attending Iftaar parties with my friends. Community is such a big part of Ramadan and sharing it with as many people as possible, in as many ways as possible, is so beautiful and powerful. What do you most look forward to during Ramadan?

Expand full comment

I am sure I will have more questions as time goes on. Here are three that I am curious about:

1. What, if any, is the rationale for the "no water" rule during the holy month of Ramadan?

2. Are there any aspects of your faith you have questioned/sought alternate interpretations of as you have learned more about it or yourself?

3. I am not well versed in the Quran by any means, but one verse that piqued by interest is "Al-Nisa" (apologies if I mis-typed) or the verse dedicated to Women. There are things contained within the verse that could prove to be dangerous or detrimental through a "simple" reading. I am curious about the interpretation(s) of it, as I am sure there are several, if you're willing to share.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for your questions!

1. I don't know that water is any different from everything else Muslims must abstain from while fasting, like tea and coffee, for example, which are habits for many people. I've come to the understanding that the idea behind plenty of what is required of Muslims to do is that nothing should come in the way of their worship. This includes food and water and even sleep: the early morning prayers are just before dawn when many of us are in deep sleep.

2. I haven't questioned or sought alternative interpretations about the faith (although when I was younger, certain parts felt so inconvenient!) but I have tried to understand it for myself. This has led me to realise the importance of understanding concepts with context.

3. Please tell me which parts of the verse or is it the whole verse? I'll read it before I respond.

Expand full comment

Thanks Ayesha!

Regarding #3, this might be a loose translation, but below is the verse:

"Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, as God has given some of them an advantage over others, and because they spend out of their wealth. The good women are obedient, guarding what God would have them guard. As for those from whom you fear disloyalty, admonish them, and abandon them in their beds, then strike them. But if they obey you, seek no way against them. God is Sublime, Great."

Expand full comment
author

Hi. Thanks for the clarification. I've included the verse according to the translation I've always used (by Yusuf Ali -- a highly regarded and widely trusted translation), to show the slight difference between translated versions and how this can affect interpretation. Going from Arabic to English, depending on who's translating, like with all translation, certain details can be changed or lost.

"(Husbands) are the protectors of and maintainers of their (wives), because Allah has given the one more (strength) than the other, and because they support them from their means. Therefore the righteous women are devoutly obedient, and guard (in the husband's) absence what Allah would have them guard. As to those women on whose part you fear disloyalty and ill-conduct, admonish them (first), (next), refuse to share their beds, (and last) beat them (lightly); but if they return to obedience, seek not against them means (of annoyance): for Allah is Most High, Great (above you all)."

I previously mentioned the importance of context and this is a good example. These verses were revealed in the time period that they were in a particular part of the world which had its own cultural practices. So interpretation in current day with this understanding is important. I've included another verse from the same chapter which is related to the content of the previous one:

"If any of your women are guilty of lewdness, take the evidence of four (reliable) witnesses from amongst you against them; and if they testify, confine them to houses until death do claim them, or Allah ordain for them some (other) way."

There are several checks and balances to ensure fairness and in my opinion, unless this lewdness can be confirmed in the prescribed method, striking women is not allowed. And the sentence structure suggests it's a last resort. Selective picking of certain parts of verses to justify patriarchy and misogyny is problematic, considering how many verses also specify the rights and protections given to women in Islam.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Ayesha Aleem

Thanks for the thoughtful and comprehensive reply.

Expand full comment